Board Committees

These are the four committees that are trusted by the Board to action some of the Academy’s most important tasks.

The Audit and Risk Committee

A group that oversees the Academy’s financial performance, and is responsible for audit, risk management and remuneration.
Dr Susan Pond AM FTSEChair
Dr Bruce Godfrey FTSEMember
Dr Anthony Gregson AM FTSE FRACIMember
Dr Erica Smyth FTSEMember
Dr Mark Toner FTSE FIEAust FAICDMember
Dr Peter Tyree FTSEMember
Dr Margaret Hartley FTSEAttendee
Mrs Lynn Pagoda Attendee

The Membership Committee

A group that takes care of membership and the annual appointment of new Fellows. Each year, it presents the Board with a list of recommended candidates, and advises on the Ballot and induction processes.

Dr David Cook FTSEChair
Professor Michael Miller AO FTSEDeputy Chair
Professor Kaye Basford FTSEMember
Professor Antony Basten AO FAA FTSEMember
Dr John Burgess FTSEMember
Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSEMember
Dr Cathy Foley FTSEMember
Professor Barry Fraser FTSEMember
Mr Allan Gillespie FTSEMember
Dr Alexander Gosling AM FTSEMember
Mr Michael Heard FTSEMember
Professor Robert Lawn FTSEMember
Dr John O'Callaghan FTSEMember
Professor Alison Ord FTSEMember
Dr John Radcliffe AM FTSEMember
Professor Judy Raper FTSEMember
Mr David Singleton FTSE HonFIEAustMember
Dr Merilyn Sleigh FTSEMember
Dr Brian Spies FTSEMember
Professor Dong-ke Zhang FTSEMember

The Awards Committee

The group responsible for rewarding excellence and innovation in technological sciences and engineering through the annual ATSE Clunies Ross Awards – which recognise the commercialisation of innovation.

Professor Alan Robson AO FTSEChair
Professor Edwina Cornish AO FTSEMember
Professor David De Kretser AC FAA FTSEMember
Professor Les Field FAAMember
Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSEMember
Professor Max Lu FTSEMember
Mr Craig Roy Member
Professor Margaret Sheil FTSEMember
Mr Bill Mackey Staff

State & Territory Division Committees

Our State & Territory Division Committees help to facilitate regional activities around the country. They act as a link between ATSE head office, its interstate counterparts and Fellows. And they ensure that our objectives stay consistent throughout the network. The seven State & Territory Division Committees act as Board Committees.