Our people

The Academy is made up of more than 800 Fellows drawn from a cross section of fields – including academia, industry, research and government. Each is evaluated and then elected by their peers in recognition of their achievements in technology and engineering.

The Board

The Board of ATSE meets six times a year and is responsible for the corporate governance of ATSE in guiding and leading  its strategic direction – via the functions of our Chief Executive Officer and our staff.

The ATSE Fellows

Our list of ATSE Fellows comprises some of the most influential names in technological sciences and engineering. They’re an important group of people – one that’s been responsible for a number of key technological advancements over the past 40 years.

The Assembly

The ATSE Assembly is made up of some 30 Fellows, including the Chair of the State & Territory Division Committees, Awards Committees, Topic Forums and Working Groups.  The Assembly meets at least twice a year and works to advise the Board on the Academy’s policies and strategic direction. It develops insightful analysis and advice on strategic issues in collaboration with the wider Fellowship and external stakeholders.

The Staff

Our offices in Melbourne and Canberra are run by 18 professional employees – each working on a range of projects, studies, policy analyses, and strategies that align with the Academy’s mission. The staff helps organise and run workshops, seminars, delegations and briefings. They support the work of our Fellows and enable them to contribute to our events and publications and coordinate the preparation of Government submissions, inquiries and consultations. It’s an important role. One that’s carefully overseen and supported by our Chief Executive Officer and Director Dr Margaret Hartley FTSE.

The Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is responsible for overseeing the nomination and evaluation process for appointing new Fellows. Each year, it presents the Board with a list of recommended candidates – those who it believes have achieved excellence and impact in technological sciences and engineering. Once the Board accepts the list, it’s put to the entire Fellowship for decision by Ballot. And the chosen candidates are inducted into the Academy at the ATSE Annual Oration Dinner held in November each year.