About us


Academy committees

There are the five committees that are trusted by the Board to action some of the Academy’s most important tasks:

For all governance-related questions, email governance@atse.org.au.

Audit and Risk Committee

This committee oversees the Academy’s financial performance and is responsible for audit, risk management and remuneration.

  • Vice-President, Chair: Sue MacLeman FTSE
  • Members: Ross Pilling FTSE, Sue MacLeman FTSE, Professor Iven Mareels FTSE, Professor Andrew Parfitt FTSE
  • Attendee: Kylie Walker, ATSE CEO

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Read more about ATSE’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.

  • Vice-President, Chair: Emeritus Professor Anne Green AC FTSE
  • Ex Oficio: Kylie Walker, ATSE CEO
  • Members: Dr Gunilla Burrowes FTSE, Dr Janis Cocking FTSE, David Hind OAM FIChemE FEA FTSE, Professor Emily Hilder FTSE, Professor Mark Hoffman FTSE, Professor Jason Sharples FTSE, Professor Huanting Wang FTSE

Membership Committee

The membership committee oversees membership and the annual appointment of new Fellows.

  • Vice President, Chair: Professor Mark Hoffman FTSE
  • Deputy Chair: Denise Goldsworthy AO FTSE
  • Deputy Chair: Leeanne Bond FTSE

Membership Sector Group A: Energy, Mining & Minerals Processing

  • Chair: Professor Renate Egan FTSE

Membership Sector Group B: Water & Environment

  • Chair: Dr Jenny Stauber FAA FTSE

Membership Sector Group C: ICT

  • Chair: Dr Sarah Pearce FTSE

Membership Sector Group D: Materials & Emerging Technologies

  • Chair: Professor Emily Hilder FTSE

Membership Sector Group E: Infrastructure

  • Chair: William Cox FTSE FIEAust

Membership Sector Group F: Biotechnology & Human Health

  • Chair: Professor Ron Quinn AM FTSE

Membership Sector Group G: Primary Industries & Food Technology

  • Chair: Professor Richard Eckard FTSE

Membership Sector Group H: Entrepreneurship, Service & Education

  • Chair: Professor Annabelle Duncan FTSE

ATSE Awards Committees

ATSE has committees responsible for awarding excellence and innovation with the following prestigious Awards:

The Clunies Ross Innovation Awards Selection Committee

  • Chair: Dr Sue Keay FTSE

Batterham Medal Selection Committee

  • Chair: Professor Simon Biggs FTSE

ICM Agrifood Award Selection Committee

  • Chair: Professor Edward Barlow FTSE

Ezio Rizzardo Polymer Scholarship Selection Committee

  • Chair: Dr Ian Dagley FTSE

David and Valerie Solomon Award Selection Committee

  • Chair: Professor Lachlan Blackhall FTSE

Traditional Knowledge Innovation Award Selection Committee

  • Chair: Professor Jason Sharples FTSE