About us


Academy committees

There are the five committees that are trusted by the Board to action some of the Academy’s most important tasks:

For all governance-related questions, email governance@atse.org.au.

Audit and Risk Committee

This committee oversees the Academy’s financial performance and is responsible for audit, risk management and remuneration.

Chair: Professor Iven Mareels FTSE 

Deputy Chair: Professor Kaye Basford FTSE 

Members: John Pilling FTSE, Dr Richard Sheldrake AM FTSE, Professor Anne Simmons AM FTSE, Dr Mark Toner AM FTSE

Attendee: Kylie Walker


Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Read more about ATSE’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.

Chair: Dr Bruce Godfrey FTSE

Ex Oficio: Kylie Walker

Members: Dr Lachlan Blackhall FTSE, Ms Leeanne Bond FTSE, Dr Gunilla Burrowes FTSE, Michael Edwards FTSE, Professor Emily Hilder FTSE, Dr Xiaoling Liu FTSE, Dr Adi Paterson FTSE, Dr Sarah Ryan FTSE, David Thodey AO FTSE.

Observer: Dr Wafa El-Adhami


Membership Committee

The membership committee takes care of membership and the annual appointment of new Fellows.

Membership sector: Energy, Mining and Minerals Processing

Chair: Dr Alex Wonhas FTSE

Membership sector: Water and Environment

Chair: Dr Leonie Walsh FTSE

Membership sector: ICT

Chair: Professor Andrew Abramson FTSE

Membership sector: Materials and Emerging Technologies

Chair: Michael Edwards FTSE

Membership sector: Infrastructure

Chair: David Hudson FTSE

Membership sector: Biotechnology and Human Health

Chair: Dr Tracie Ramsdale FTSE

Membership sector: Agriculture and Food Technology

Chair: Professor Snow Barlow FTSE

Membership sector: Entrepreneurship, Service and Education

Chair: Professor Linda Kristjanson FTSE

Clunies Ross Awards Selection Committee

The Clunies Ross Awards Selection Committee is responsible for rewarding excellence and innovation in technological sciences and engineering through the annual Clunies Ross Awards, which recognise the commercialisation of innovation.

Chair: Professor Iven Mareels FTSE

Members: Dr Julie Beeby FTSE, John Grace AO FTSE, Dr Erol Harvey FTSE, Wayne Osborn FTSE, John Pilling FTSE, Professor Laura Poole-Warren AM FTSE, Emeritus Professor Maree Smith AC FTSE FAHMS, Dr Jennifer Stauber FTSE


ATSE Awards Committees

ATSE also has committees responsible for awarding excellence and innovation with the following prestigious Awards:

Batterham Medal Selection Committee

Chair: Emeritus Professor Elizabeth Anne Taylor AO FTSE

ICM Agrifood Selection Committee

Chair: Emeritus Professor Lindsay Falvey FTSE

Ezio Rizzardo

Chair: Dr Peter Coldrey FTSE

David and Valerie Solomon Award

Chair: Professor Thomas Spurling AM FTSE