Tanya Monro

MONRO ACT SPKR-B 1024x512-19

Professor Tanya Monro AC FTSE FAA
Chief Defence Scientist

Professor Tanya Monro commenced as Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist in March 2019. In this role she is head of Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG) and Capability Manager for Innovation, Science and Technology within the Australian Department of Defence.

In June 2022, Professor Monro was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in for eminent service to scientific and technological development, to research and innovation, to tertiary education, particularly in the field of photonics, and to professional organisations. Other honours and awards include: the Bragg Gold Medal for the best PhD thesis by an Australian university student, Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, SA Australian of the Year, Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research, and ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellowship.

Professor Monro obtained her PhD in physics from The University of Sydney, and was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the University of Southampton. Her previous roles include Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation at the University of SA and inaugural director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing and the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale Bio Photonics at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Monro is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America and the Australian Institute of Physics. She also sits on the board of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO).

_ _ _ _ _

> All ACTIVATE speakers

> ACTIVATE agenda

ACTIVATE sponsors FWI 221018b