Our awards

Are you the next winner of one of our prestigious STEM awards?

March 12 2020

Awardees banner

Some of our remarkable 2019 Award winners at the 2019 Innovation Awards Event

We believe in bringing together applied science, technology and engineering to find sustainable solutions to the complex problems facing our ever-changing world.

That’s why we champion the leaders of the future through our prestigious early- and mid-career awards.

Do you know an inspired and inspiring applied scientist, technologist or engineer working for the betterment of our society? Now’s the time to nominate them for one of these extraordinary opportunities.

We especially welcome the nomination of women, and others from historically under-represented groups.

These awards will be presented at our Innovations Awards Event in Melbourne on 11 June (depending on the situation with COVID-19).

Due to changing circumstances, nominations for these awards have been extended to Thursday 16 April.

Batterham Medal banner

Nominations are now open and close 9am AEST Thursday 16 April 2020.

The Batterham Medal recognises an early-career graduate engineer who has achieved substantial peer/industry recognition for their work in the past five years.

The award consists of a medal and a cash prize of $5000 sponsored by the Group of Eight Deans of Engineering and Associates.

Last year’s winner was was Professor Michael Milford, whose cross-disciplinary research has advanced technologies for autonomous vehicles and robotics.

ICM agrifood award banner

Nominations are now open and close 9am AEST Thursday 16 April 2020.

The ICM Agrifood Awards recognise the outstanding work of two early career scientists or technologists who have made contributions critical to continued improvement of the Australian food sector.

The two winners (of different genders) will each receive $5000, sponsored by ICM Agribusiness, one of Australia’s major agribusiness groups.

Last year’s winners were Lee Hickey, who pioneers “speed breeding” technology to slash the time to it takes to improve crop varieties, and Lydia Ong, whose analysis of protein and fat on a molecular scale is transforming the dairy industry.

Ezzio Rizardo banner

Nominations are now open and close 9am AEST Thursday 16 April 2020.

The Ezio Rizzardo Polymer Scholarship acknowledges the potential impact of an outstanding PhD candidate in polymer science or engineering.

The scholarship will provide $10,000 per year over three years, plus a $5000 travel fund.

The inaugural winner was Naomi Paxton, who is working with industry on better ways to 3D print body parts, including bones.