2023 Norton Jackson New Fellows Forum

Presented by the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) South Australia and Northern Territory Division

Event details

Wednesday 15 March 2023

4:30pm – 7:30pm ACDT




Vines Room, National Wine Centre, corner Botanic and Hackney Roads, Adelaide


> Professor Katrina Falkner FTSE, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology, The University of Adelaide

> Janine Herzig FTSE, Executive President & Director, CEEC International

FWI-SANT-New Fellows 230315

Join us in Adelaide for the opportunity to celebrate and learn from two newly elected Fellows of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) for 2022: Professor Katrina Falkner FTSE and Janine Herzig FTSE. These two individuals have made significant contributions to their respective fields and have been recognised by ATSE for their outstanding work.

Don’t miss this opportunity to hear from some of the brightest minds in the industry and network with like-minded individuals. Register today!


ATSE ACTIVATE 2022 © Salty Dingo 2022
Professor Katrina Falkner FTSE

Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology, The University of Adelaide

Professor Katrina Falkner is a top 100 innovator completely transforming computer science education. Her work directly addresses inequities in access to technology, helping to build a fairer Australia. 

In 2013, 95% of teachers had no education in computer science. Katrina decided to turn this around. Her wildly successful computer science ‘massive open online course’ (MOOC) shows teachers how computer science works and highlights its importance for children’s futures. 

Based on rigorous research, the MOOC blends computer science into any subject for an enjoyable learning experience. It has reached 45,000 Australian educators and more than two million students. 

Katrina’s research shows that teachers are inspired and empowered by the course, moving rapidly from uncertainty to confidence in teaching computer science.

ATSE ACTIVATE 2022 © Salty Dingo 2022
Janine Herzig FTSE

Executive President and Director, CEEC International

Janine Herzig is a metallurgical engineer with 30 years’ experience in the resources sector, community relations, and environmental, social, and governance (ESG). 

She has inspired, mentored and developed countless young professionals, facilitated career roadshows, university and high school engagements and community outreach. 

Currently, Janine’s workfocusses on collaborative research to identify opportunities to unlock value, improve energy and water efficiency and reduce environmental impact. 

DuringJanine’s ten years on the Board of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, two as President and Chair, she fostered a more inclusive membership base, built stakeholder trust, and modernised systems and structures that are authentic and resonate with our future leaders. She is a champion of sustainability, elevating the standing of social and environmental issues which transcended all existing technical competencies. 

Janine brings together diverse groups of professionals to seek understanding and new approaches to solving challenges.