Programs & awards

Batterham Medal

Michael Milford accepts his award from Iven Mareels

2019 Batterham Medalist Professor Michael Milford accepts his award from Academy Director, Professor Iven Mareels FTSE.

The Batterham Medal

The Batterham Medal is an early career award for a graduate engineer who has achieved substantial peer/industry recognition for their work in the past five years. The award consists of a medal and a cash prize of $5000 sponsored by the Group of Eight Deans of Engineering and Associates.

The Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering administers the award, and the Medal will be presented at the Innovation and Excellence Awards dinner on 11 June 2020 in Melbourne.

2020 Batterham Medal Nominations are now closed.

The Awardee will have:

  • demonstrated excellence, innovation and impact in a field of engineering
  • clearly demonstrated a signature contribution to engineering in the five years prior to their nomination
  • advanced the standing of the engineering profession.

Past winners

2019 winner: Professor Michael Milford, Queensland University of Technology

Read their citation >>

2018 winner: Associate Professor Madhu Bhaskaran, RMIT University

Read their citation >>

2017 winner: Professor Nick Birbilis, Monash University

Read their citation >>

2016 winner: Associate Professor Andrew Fleming, University of Newcastle

Read their citation >>

2015 winner: Dr Lachlan Blackhall, Chief Technology Officer of Reposit Power

Read their citation >>