CAETS statement

Statement of the International Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences (CAETS) on the invasion of Ukraine

19 April 2022

The International Council of Academies of Engineering and Technological Sciences (CAETS), as represented by the undersigned, is dismayed by the unprovoked large-scale military invasion of Ukraine at the instigation of the Russian government. We condemn this attack on the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. Our thoughts are with the people of Ukraine, our sympathy and solidarity go out to them. 

CAETS considers the invasion as an attack on the fundamental values of freedom, democracy and self-determination, which in turn provide the basis for academic freedom and opportunities for scientific and technological progress. We wish to express our solidarity with the Academy of Technological Sciences of Ukraine and with all Ukrainian scientists and engineers in the face of the ordeals they are going through as a result of the invasion of their country. 

 CAETS also wishes to pay tribute to the courageous stand taken by thousands of Russian scientists in an open letter denouncing the aggression towards Ukraine by the Russian Federation and calling for its immediate cessation. 

The courageous defense advanced by the Ukrainian people shows their uncompromising attachment to freedom. In a multidimensional world, close scientific and technical international cooperation, in science and industry as in many other fields, is a necessity and requires respect for freedom, the freedom of peoples to choose their future and their freedom to think and express themselves. 

CAETS and its member academies are committed to enabling a future in which peace prevails and standards of living and prosperity are secured through international cooperation in science and innovation. To that end CAETS calls for an immediate cessation of hostilities followed by meaningful peace talks under the auspices of the United Nations. 

This statement was endorsed by the following CAETS member academies:

Academia Nacional de Ingenieria of Argentina

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering

Royal Belgian Academy Council of Applied Sciences

Canadian Academy of Engineering

Croatian Academy of Engineering

Engineering Academy of the Czech Republic

Danish Academy of Technical Sciences

Council of Finnish Academies

National Academy of Technologies of France

National Academy of Science and Engineering of Germany

Hungarian Academy of Engineering

Irish Academy of Engineering

Engineering Academy of Japan

National Academy of Engineering of Korea

Academy of Engineering of Mexico

Netherlands Academy of Technology and Innovation

Royal Society Te Aparangi of New Zealand

Nigerian Academy of Engineering

Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences

Slovenian Academy of Engineering

South African Academy of Engineering

Real Academia de Ingenieria of Spain

Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences

Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences

Royal Academy of Engineering of the United Kingdom

National Academy of Engineering of the United States