Featured Fellows

Fellows awarded Australia Day honours

29 January 2020

Six Fellows of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering have been named in the 2020 Australia Day honours.

The Fellows were among 1099 outstanding and inspirational Australians to be honoured.

Academy President Professor Hugh Bradlow FTSE said:

“These honours recognise extraordinary leaders in applied science, technology and engineering whose contributions have shown how technology can make a significant contribution to society.”

“On behalf of the Academy, I offer you all my deepest congratulations. We are proud of you.”

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

Genevieve Bell
Distinguished Professor Genevieve Bell AO FTSE (ACT)

Australian National University

For distinguished service to education, particularly to the social sciences and cultural anthropology.

geoff stevens
Laureate Professor Geoffrey Stevens AO FTSE (VIC)

University of Melbourne

For distinguished service to education, to chemical engineering and environmental remediation, and as a mentor.

Brian Walker
Dr Brian Harrison Walker AO FTSE FAA (ACT)


For distinguished service to science, particularly to ecosystem ecology and research, and to professional scientific bodies.

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

Tony Guttmann
Emeritus Professor Tony Guttmann AM FTSE FAA (VIC)

University of Melbourne

For significant service to the mathematical sciences, and to education.

John O'Callaghan
Emeritus Professor John O'CALLAGHAN AM FTSE (ACT)

Australian National University

For significant service to information technology, and to education.

Laura Poole-Warren
Professor Laura Poole-Warren AM FTSE (NSW)

University of NSW

For significant service to education, and to biomedical engineering.