Featured Fellows

Health sector champion receives Women in Leadership Award

April 11 2019

Dr Anna Lavelle receiving the 2019 Women in Leadership Award.

Lusia Guthrie, Chair, BioMelbourne Network; Martin Pakula, Minister for Jobs, Innovation and Trade, Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions; Dr Anna Lavelle, Chair, ANDHealth; Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria. Image courtesy of BioMelbourne network.

An Academy Fellow has been honoured for years of outstanding leadership in the health industry by the BioMelbourne Network.

Dr Anna Lavelle FTSE, who was elected a Fellow in 2014, has received the BioMelbourne Network 2019 Women in Leadership Award – Impact for Industry.

The award recognises exceptional women who have made vital contributions to biotechnology, medical technology and the pharmaceuticals sector.

“We had a record number of applications this year, and the judges were overwhelmed by the quality and the achievements of women leaders in our industry,” said Lusia Guthrie, Chair of BioMelbourne Network.

“This,” she added, “is not only a reflection of the growing role and successes of women in Melbourne’s medtech sector but also that these achievements are valued and recognised by their colleagues.”

Dr Lavelle has spent the better part of 25 years working within and campaigning for the growth and expansion of the life sciences and medical technologies sector. In her various CEO, director and board leadership positions she has been has been a generous mentor, sponsor and advocate for women in STEM.

“Australia is a key player in biotechnology,“ Dr Lavelle said. ”I have been proud to contribute to the global power and vibrancy of this sector in a passionate and determined way for over 20 years.”

As CEO at AusBiotech, the national industry organisation for life sciences, Dr Lavelle championed policy changes to support the growth of innovative companies.

She is a standard bearer for the local biotechnology industry and has forged global pathways for Australia’s innovators to contribute to health of patients worldwide.

Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria, presented the award on 9 March at a ceremony at Government House.