Institutions recognised for work to eliminate gender bias

23 September 2019

Thirteen Australian institutions have been recognised for their efforts to improve gender equity and diversity, receiving Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze Awards as part of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative.

SAGE is a partnership between the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering and the Australian Academy of Science.

The awardees, listed in alphabetical order, are:

  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • Federation University
  • Flinders University
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
  • South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute
  • The George Institute for Global Health
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Sydney
  • Western Sydney University

Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Karen Andrews congratulated members of the second cohort to achieve accreditation.

“Our Government is committed to increasing the number of women in STEM, and our universities and institutions must be at the forefront when it comes to setting an example,” Minister Andrews said.

“SAGE’s work is an important part of our Women in STEM Strategy and Women in STEM Decadal Plan and that’s why we included a further $1.8 million toward the SAGE initiative in the 2019-20 Budget.”

Executive Director, SAGE, Dr Wafa El-Adhami, said this was the second group of the 45-strong SAGE member institutions from the higher education and research (HER) sector to complete the Athena SWAN Institutional Bronze process.

“The Bronze Award recognises an institution’s work to set solid foundations for their journey to transformative change; it sets them on the course to Sliver and Gold awards,” Dr El-Adhami said.

“This follows the inaugural accreditation of 15 organisations in December last year, and I extend my sincere congratulations to all awardees for their commitment to gender equity in the higher education and research sector in Australia.”

Bond University, Burnet Institute, James Cook University and the University of Tasmania were also recognised for their progress to date towards Bronze Award accreditation and their continued commitment to SAGE.

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering President, Professor Hugh Bradlow, said:“It’s inspiring to see so many great Australian universities and research institutions committing to making meaningful, measurable and lasting change to their workplace culture.

“Diversity is not an optional extra – workplaces that reflect the wider community are both ethical and effective workplaces, tapping into the skills of their entire team.”

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering CEO, Dr Margaret Hartley, added: “We are proud of our partnership with the Australian Academy of Science in the SAGE initiative, which is helping shift workplace culture in dozens of our higher education and research organisations.

“We are committed to enabling and supporting women to thrive, advance in their careers and be recognised at work. We are all better placed when people can contribute, regardless of gender, sexual orientation or ethnicity.”

Australian Academy of Science President, Professor John Shine AC, said: “Australia is leading by example through piloting the Athena SWAN Charter program, ensuring that organisations prioritise inclusion and diversity and take practical actions to achieve this goal.”

Australian Academy of Science Chief Executive, Anna-Maria Arabia, added: “The two Academies are proud to support the SAGE initiative, the only transformative gender equity program of its kind in Australia designed to achieve sustained cultural change via a national accreditation framework.”