Murray Scott wins Lawrence Hargrave Award

Professor Murray Scott stands with his award

Professor Murray Scott is the 2019 winner of the prestigious biennial Lawrence Hargrave Award, honouring an Australian who has made a significant contribution to Australian aviation.

Professor Scott has more than 35 years’ experience in the field of aerospace engineering.

He has made an outstanding contribution to the design and manufacturing of advanced fibre-composite aerospace structures, primarily as CEO of the Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for Advanced Composite Structures. This CRC underpinned the design and production of advanced composite structures for the Boeing 787 wings – a notable highlight for Australia’s aerospace manufacturing capability.

The award was presented by the Australian Division Past President Air Vice Marshal Noel Schmidt at the 18th Australian International Aerospace Congress Dinner in February in Melbourne.

The Australian Division of the Royal Aeronautical Society established the Lawrence Hargrave Award 20 years ago to recognise achievement at all levels and in all disciplines of aerospace within Australia.

The Lawrence Hargrave Award honours one of Australia’s true pioneers of flight. Hargrave’s experiments with box kites at Stanwell Park near Sydney in the 1890s proved to be one of the most significant early developments in aviation.