Featured Fellows

Tim Reeves awarded Farrer Memorial Medal

August 1 2019

Professor Tim Reeves FTSE was today awarded the 2019 Farrer Memorial Medal, acknowledging his contribution to sustainable agriculture through work in agricultural research, development and extension.

Dr John Radcliffe AM FTSE said the Farrer Memorial Research Scholarship provided encouragement and inspiration to those engaged in agricultural science.

“I congratulate Professor Reeves, whose 50-year career has contributed to positive advances in agriculture in Australia and overseas,” Dr Radcliffe said.

“As a pioneer of no-till and conservation agriculture research at the Rutherglen Research Institute his impact can be seen in the modern farming practices we use today.

“Professor Reeves’ professional career has followed a stellar trajectory with roles as Foundation Professor of Sustainable Agricultural Production at Adelaide University, Director General of the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center in Mexico and a member of the United Nations Millennium Project Task Force on Hunger.

“Currently a member of the European Commission Expert Group for Evaluation of H2020 Projects, he has also contributed to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Save and Grow project to develop sustainable intensification of smallholder agriculture.”

Tim Reeves with medal

Professor Tim Reeves FTSE is currently a director of the Crawford Fund for a Food Secure World.

Professor Reeves was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering in 2001. He serves on the ICM Agrifood Award Selection Committee and the Academy’s International Strategy Group.

He has made significant contributions to scientific reviews for the FAO, the Global Crop Diversity Trust, the Government of India, the AGFUND Prize, the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research, Grains Research and Development Corporation, Dairy Australia and Sydney Royal Botanic Gardens.

Professor Reeves has served as director of many boards and is currently a director of the Crawford Fund for a Food Secure World.

A national and international consultant in agricultural research, his focus remains focused on global food security and the sustainable intensification of agriculture and farming systems.

The Farrer Memorial Medal is awarded annually to commemorate William James Farrer, Australia’s leading wheat breeder, in recognition of distinguished service in agricultural science and contribution to Australia’s cropping industries.

In delivering the Farrer Memorial Oration, Professor Reeves spoke about the importance of the sustainable intensification of agriculture for food and nutritional security.

More information about the Farrer Memorial Medal is available on the NSW DPI website.