Emerging Leaders Network

ATSE’s Emerging Leaders Network will support twenty high-potential young people from diverse backgrounds to grow their capability as emerging leaders.


The Network supports high-potential young people from diverse backgrounds and grow their capability as emerging leaders. 

The ATSE Emerging Leaders Network has been established with the aim to support youth in STEM bring unique perspectives to many of the national and global challenges that society faces and will in turn bring new perspectives to ATSE’s policy and advocacy work.

The network provides youth with an opportunity to develop leadership capacity, work and learn alongside established scholars and industry personnel within the ATSE Fellowship, and contribute to robust and practical thinking to Australia’s big debates. They are included in ATSE’s policy work to help Australians understand and use technology to solve complex problems. The Network enables competitively selected participants the opportunity to: 

  • Enhance their leadership capacities
  • Work and learn alongside senior scholars and industry leaders within ATSE’s Fellowship
  • Be mentored by senior scholars and industry leaders within ATSE’s Fellowship, and
  • Contribute to robust and practical thinking to inform Australia’s response to complex challenges. 

Members of the Network have the opportunity to develop the skills necessary for influencing policy, engaging with senior leaders, and expanding their professional networks across the breadth of Australian STEM leadership. 


2024 Emerging Leader Network members

Jade Hutchinson, Macquarie University Doctoral Candidate
Digital Futures Forum 

Dr Samantha Papavasiliou, James Cook University Adjunct Senior Research Fellow
Digital Futures Forum 

Dr Catriona Nguyen-Robertson, University of Melbourne/Museums Victoria Lecturer and Learning Facilitator
Education Forum 

Dr Giulia Iacono, Monash University Postdoctoral Research Scientist
Education Forum 

Meaghan White, EleXsys Energy Research Engineer
Energy Forum 

Dr Danilo Carluccio, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Biomedical Engineer
Health Technologies Forum 

Rabia Mobeen, University of New South Wales Associate Lecturer
Health Technologies Forum 

Dr Ava Faridi, Nano Vacuum Pty Ltd Head of Sales and Marketing
Industry and Innovation Forum 

Dr Winter Okoth, American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Board Member
Industry and Innovation Forum

Bernie-Anne Freeman, Department of Transport and Main Roads Principal Engineer
Infrastructure Forum 

Dr Arianna Oddo, University of Melbourne Business Development Associate
International Steering Group 

Olutope Arinola Akinnibosun, Federation University PhD Candidate
International Steering Group 

Shehzad Hathi, Macquarie Bank Senior Analyst
Mineral Resources Forum 

Deepak Durendhra Mallya, Barwon Water Research Projects Officer
Water Forum 

Emma Kuhn, Flinders University Associate Lecturer
Water Forum 


The ATSE industry sector Forum mentors

  • Dr Elaine Saunders FTSE 
  • Ms Janine Herzig FTSE 
  • Professor Xioajing Hao FTSE 
  • Professor Ron Quinn AM FTSE 
  • Professor Gernot Heiser FTSE FIEEE FACM 
  • Professor Robyn Owens AM FTSE FAA 
  • Dr Nick Austin FTSE 
  • Professor Rocky De Nys FTSE 
  • Emeritus Professor Kaye Basford AM FTSE 


ATSE represents the nation’s leaders in technology and engineering. The Emerging Leaders program ensures that ATSE also develops our future leaders, providing them the mentoring, leadership opportunities and exposure to role models, which are key to building future capabilities.

Education Forum chair
Professor Mark Hoffman FTSE 



Applications are currently closed.

The ATSE Emerging Leaders Network Guidelines outline the scope of work, ATSE’s Forums and the International Steering Group, the structure of the ATSE Emerging Leaders Network, roles and responsibilities, and benefits of members of the ATSE Emerging Leaders Network. It also includes information on the eligibility criteria, process, and time of application consideration. 




Contact ATSE at STEMcareers@atse.org.au or (02) 6185 3240 Monday-Friday 9:00am-5:00pm AEST.