The Academy’s Board comprises the President, eight elected Fellows, the CEO and, from time to time, a Director elected by the Board.

The Board also establishes systems and processes to safeguard and manage the resources of the Academy within its stated objectives, vision, mission and goals. Good governance is the responsibility of the Directors, who have the duty and power to manage the affairs of the Academy both in terms of compliance and performance. 

For more information regarding Academy Governance please contact the Company Secretary +61 2 6185 3240 —


Dr Katherine Woodthorpe AO FTSE FAICD

Dr Katherine Woodthorpe AO FTSE is one of Australia’s most influential people in innovation. In 2017, she received an Order of Australia for her ongoing service to research and technology innovation in Australia. She has been a professional director for over 20 years including as Chair of the Great Barrier Reef Foundation, Natural Hazards Research Australia, the Antarctic Science Foundation and the HEARing Cooperative Research Centre.
> Read Katherine Woodthorpe's full profile

Professor Mark Hoffman FTSE

Mark Hoffman is a globally-recognised academic leader, he is passionate about the power of global universities to lead economic and social change through top-class education embedded in a cutting-edge research and innovation ecosystem.
Read Mark Hoffman's full profile

Macleman Sue (1)
Sue MacLeman FTSE

Sue MacLeman has more than 30 years’ experience as a pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical technology executive having held senior roles in corporate, medical, commercial and business development. Sue has served as CEO and Board member of several ASX, AIM and NASDAQ listed companies in the healthtech sector.
Sue has held positions on several academic and government advisory boards including the Prime Minister’s Digital Expert Advisory Board, CSIRO Health and Biosecurity Advisory Committee, MTPConnect, DMTC Medical Countermeasures and Chair Health Security Systems Australia Advisory board and a number of COVID-19 taskforces including SITAG and EAG mRNA. Her broad commercial and technical experience is underpinned by a Bachelor of Pharmacy from the University of Queensland, a Master of Laws from Deakin University and a Master of Marketing from Melbourne Business School. She is also a Fellow and former Chair of the Health Forum at the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and Fellow/Graduate of Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).
> Read Sue MacLeman's full profile

Emeritus Professor Anne Green AC FTSE

Emeritus Professor Anne Green has more than 30 years experience in strategic leadership and management in the university sector. She holds a BSc (Hons) degree from the University of Melbourne and a PhD from the University of Sydney. Subsequently, she was awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship at the Max Planck Institute for Radioastronomy (Germany).
Read Anne Green's full profile

Iven Mareels FTSE

Professor Mareels is the Lab Director, IBM Research Australia and an honorary Professor at the University of Melbourne. At IBM Research Australia he leads the development of the next generation of artificial intelligence, blockchain technologies and quantum computing software.

> Read Iven Mareels's full profile

Professor Elanor Huntington FTSE

Professor Elanor Huntington is the Executive Director – Digital, National Facilities & Collections for CSIRO. Prior to that, she was Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science at the Australian National University (ANU) where she helped bring about significant transformation within the College and sector.
Read Elanor Huntington's full profile

Professor Paul Wood AO FTSE

Professor Paul Wood has over thirty years’ experience in R&D and been successful as a research scientist, an R&D leader and entrepreneur. He has led R&D teams from CSIRO, CSL and Pfizer Animal Health (now Zoetis) and was Deputy-Director of the Vaccine Technology CRC.
Read Paul Wood's full profile

SPROSTON Kylie (1)
Kylie Sproston FTSE

Kylie Sproston is a chartered engineer and internationally experienced leader in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries with a strong focus on manufacturing. She has expertise across the full pharmaceutical product lifecycle and has held senior positions in Australia and the UK in technical and management functions.
Read Kylie Sproston's full profile

BOND Leeanne
Leeanne Bond FTSE FAICD

Leeanne Bond is respected engineering leader with a passion for business, innovation, sustainability and decarbonisation. She has a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering and MBA from The University of Queensland and is an Independent Non-Executive Director and Board Chair. She is currently a non-executive director of Aurecon Limited, Snowy Hydro Limited, Entyr Limited (ASX:ETR) and One Basin CRC.
Read Leeanne Bond's full profile

ATSE Secretariat Kylie Walker
Kylie Walker

Kylie is the Chief Executive Officer and works with Australia’s leaders in applied science, technology and engineering to advise decision-makers, lead crucial national conversations to solve complex challenges, and support Australia’s technology-powered, human-driven future. 




Audit and Risk Committee

This committee oversees the Academy’s financial performance and is responsible for audit, risk management and remuneration.
Vice-President, Chair: Sue MacLeman FTSE
Members: Ross Pilling FTSE, Professor Iven Mareels FTSE, Professor Andrew Parfitt FTSE
Attendee: Kylie Walker, ATSE CEO

Membership Committee

The membership committee oversees membership and the appointment of new Fellows.
Vice President, Chair: Professor Mark Hoffman FTSE
Deputy Chair: Denise Goldsworthy AO FTSE
Deputy Chair: Leeanne Bond FTSE

Membership Sector Group A: Energy, Mining & Minerals Processing
Chair: Professor Renate Egan FTSE

Membership Sector Group B: Water & Environment
Chair: Dr Jenny Stauber FAA FTSE

Membership Sector Group C: ICT
Chair: Dr Sarah Pearce FTSE

Membership Sector Group D: Materials & Emerging Technologies
Chair: Professor Emily Hilder FTSE

Membership Sector Group E: Infrastructure
Chair: William Cox FTSE 

Membership Sector Group F: Biotechnology & Human Health
Chair: Professor Ron Quinn AM FTSE

Membership Sector Group G: Primary Industries & Food Technology
Chair: Professor Richard Eckard FTSE

Membership Sector Group H: Entrepreneurship, Service & Education
Chair: Professor Annabelle Duncan FTSE

ATSE Awards Committees

ATSE has committees responsible for awarding excellence and innovation with the following prestigious Awards.

Clunies Ross Technology Innovation Awards Selection Committee
Chair: Dr Sue Keay FTSE

Batterham Medal Selection Committee
Chair: Professor Karen Hapgood FTSE

ICM Agrifood Award Selection Committee
Chair: Professor Edward Barlow FTSE

Ezio Rizzardo Polymer Scholarship Selection Committee
Chair: Dr Ian Dagley FTSE

David and Valerie Solomon Award Selection Committee
Chair: Professor Lachlan Blackhall FTSE

Traditional Knowledge Innovation Award Selection Committee
Chair: Professor Jason Sharples FTSE


Last updated: June 2024