Supporting Australia’s emerging technological sciences and engineering leaders

13 March 2024


ATSE is pleased to announce the inaugural members of the Emerging Leaders Network. The 15 Leaders have been selected to work alongside esteemed scholars and industry leaders to develop their leadership, policy and advocacy skills. 

The Network is designed to enhance the contributions of rising professionals in STEM by providing opportunities to meet and work with ATSE Fellows, develop leadership skills and contribute to practical thinking to address pressing challenges. The members will actively contribute to ATSE’s Policy Forums, and will also be assigned a Fellow as mentor who will support and guide them in their journey. 

In addition to participating  in the Policy Forums, the Network will meet as a group to exchange ideas and provide peer support as they learn and develop their skills. Members will develop the skills necessary for influencing policy, engaging with senior leaders and expanding their professional networks across the breadth of Australian STEM leadership. 

The Emerging Leaders Network has been established to support young people in STEM to bring their unique perspectives to many of the challenges that society faces and in turn, to ATSE’s policy and advocacy work. 

The 15 Emerging Leaders: 

  • Jade Hutchinson, Macquarie University Doctoral Candidate 
  • Digital Futures Forum 
  • Dr Samantha Papavasiliou, James Cook University Adjunct Senior Research Fellow 
  • Digital Futures Forum 
  • Dr Catriona Nguyen-Robertson, University of Melbourne/Museums Victoria Lecturer and Learning Facilitator 
  • Education Forum 
  • Dr Giulia Iacono, Monash University Postdoctoral Research Scientist 
  • Education Forum 
  • Meaghan White, EleXsys Energy Research Engineer 
  • Energy Forum 
  • Dr Danilo Carluccio, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital Biomedical Engineer 
  • Health Technologies Forum 
  • Rabia Mobeen, University of New South Wales Associate Lecturer 
  • Health Technologies Forum 
  • Dr Ava Faridi, Nano Vacuum Pty Ltd Head of Sales and Marketing 
  • Industry and Innovation Forum 
  • Dr Winter Okoth, American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene Board Member 
  • Industry and Innovation Forum 
  • Bernie-Anne Freeman, Department of Transport and Main Roads Principal Engineer 
  • Infrastructure Forum 
  • Dr Arianna Oddo, University of Melbourne Business Development Associate 
  • International Steering Group 
  • Olutope Arinola Akinnibosun, Federation University PhD Candidate 
  • International Steering Group 
  • Shehzad Hathi, Macquarie Bank Senior Analyst 
  • Mineral Resources Forum 
  • Deepak Durendhra Mallya, Barwon Water Research Projects Officer 
  • Water Forum 
  • Emma Kuhn, Flinders University Associate Lecturer 
  • Water Forum 

The Forum mentors: 

  • Dr Elaine Saunders FTSE 
  • Ms Janine Herzig FTSE 
  • Professor Xioajing Hao FTSE 
  • Professor Ron Quinn AM FTSE 
  • Professor Gernot Heiser FTSE FIEEE FACM 
  • Professor Robyn Owens AM FTSE FAA 
  • Dr Nick Austin FTSE 
  • Professor Rocky De Nys FTSE 
  • Emeritus Professor Kaye Basford AM FTSE