Technology and Traditional Knowledge – creative problem solving, connection, and country

Bridging Traditional Knowledge and technology through STEM innovations

Event details

Tuesday 1 August 2023

2:00pm – 2:45pm AEST


Zoom Webinar


> Bradley Moggridge, University of Canberra
> Katherine Locock, CSIRO Manufacturing
> Carly Forrest, Ochre Sun


> Kylie Walker, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering


Join us as we give students across Australia the chance to interact with the country’s brightest minds who are shaping the future through STEM. ATSE’s Shape Your Future series showcases the diverse and dynamic journeys that these inspiring individuals have taken in their career journeys.

In our next webinar we’re bringing together experts who are bridging Traditional Knowledge and technology through STEM innovations.

This session will be moderated by Kylie Walker, ATSE CEO, and will feature presentations from Professor Bradley Moggridge, Associate Professor in Indigenous Water Science, University of Canberra, and Dr Katherine Locock, Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO Manufacturing, and will be followed by a Q&A session.


Associate Professor Bradley Moggridge

Associate Professor in Indigenous Water Science, University of Canberra

Associate Professor Bradley Moggridge is a proud Murri from the Kamilaroi Nation living on Ngunnawal Land and is a researcher in Indigenous water science (with qualifications in hydrogeology and environmental science) and is in the final stages of his PhD candidature at the University of Canberra. Until 2021 he was the Indigenous Liaison Officer for the Threatened Species Recovery Hub under the National Environmental Science Program.  

Associate Professor Moggridge is a Board member with the NSW EPA and Biodiversity Council and a member of the Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists, a Governor of WWF Australia and President of the Australian Freshwater Science Society. He is a Fellow of the Peter Cullen Trust and Alumni of the International Water Centre.  

Associate Professor Moggridge has won several awards, has presented widely, published in his area and is on many committees – from local to international adding to his 25years in water and environmental science, cultural science, regulation, water planning and management, including policy development, legislative reviews, applied research and project management. He hopes to encourage future generations to pursue interests in STEM, promote his ancestors’ knowledge of water and mentor emerging Indigenous scientists. 

Dr Katherine Locock

Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO Manufacturing

Dr Katherine Locock leads the Drug Discovery Chemistry team in the Manufacturing Business Unit of the CSIRO in Melbourne, Australia. Her research focuses on how chemistry can deliver solutions to industry challenges across the manufacturing, biotech and agricultural sectors. 

Katherine has also worked extensively with First Nations groups over the past 10 years. This includes partnerships with First Nations businesses to unlock the economic potential of Traditional Knowledge, STEM education outreach work with regional and remote First Nations schools and the building of strong relationships with Traditional Owner groups. As a non-Indigenous researcher, she places an emphasis on engagement that is First Nations initiated and/or co-developed, so that it is respectful and derives relevant benefit for their communities. 

Prior to the CSIRO, Katherine held a position as an Associate Lecturer in Pharmacology at the University of Sydney, where she focused on the development of analogues to target memory and mood. She also held a part-time role in 2016 as an advisor to Senator Kim Carr, Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research as part of the BioMedVic Researcher in Residence Program. 

In recognition of her contributions to the field Katherine was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (2021) and as AIPS Victorian Young Tall Poppy of the Year (2016). She has also received Ruby Payne-Scott (2021) and Julius Career Development (2016) Awards and was recognised as one of the top 5% most cited authors in the Royal Society of Chemistry journals. She is also a recent graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (2023).

Carly Forrest

Operations Manager, Ochre Sun

Carly Forrest is the Operations Manager for Indigenous Sunscreen company, Ochre Sun. Carly has cultural connection to the Mandandanji people of Roma, South-West Queensland, but lives on Gubbi Gubbi/Kabi Kabi country on the Sunshine Coast. Carly has decades of experience in the higher education and VET sectors across program and people management, Indigenous education, community and school engagement. Prior to this Carly was a Retail Pharmacy Manager and worked in executive administration in finance, natural resources and recruitment sectors in London. 


Kylie Walker

Chief Executive Officer, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering

Kylie is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. She works with Australia’s leaders in applied science, technology and engineering to advise decision-makers, lead crucial national conversations to solve complex challenges, and support Australia’s technology-powered, human-driven future.

As the past CEO of Science & Technology Australia, Kylie led campaigns to increase investment in Australian research and development, and created the acclaimed Superstars of STEM program, championing Australian women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

Kylie is a visiting Fellow at the Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science. She has been Chair of the Australian National Commission for UNESCO, is a member of Chief Executive Women, and has been named one of AFR’s 100 Women of Influence, for her work on improving equity, diversity and inclusion in STEM.

With a background in journalism, at the ABC and Australian Associated Press, Kylie’s advocacy career spans health and medicine, science and technology. She was the first Director of Communications at the Australian Academy of Science, established awards for excellence in aged care at Catholic Health Australia, and led lobbying for the Australian Medical Association.


12th September 2023

31 October 2023
21st November 2023